Showers of gold

download

Every month we introduce a new tree to understand its many uses and its role in the environment. Take a look at the Sarakonrai tree.

I am a Sarakonrai also known as Golden Shower and Amaltas. My botanical name is  Cassia fistuladownload (1)

You see me as   A medium sized tree with large leaflets. I am one of the most beautiful of all tropical trees in summer. When I burst into flower I am a riot of yellow gold. My fruits are long dark brown cylindrical pods which hold flattish brown seeds.download (2)

I am     The national flower of Thailand and the state tree of Kerala.

My beautiful flowers    Are of ritual importance during the Vishu festival celebrated in  Kerala. The Vishukkani which literally means “the first sight on the day of Vishu  after waking up” consists of a ritual arrangement of auspicious articles like raw rice fresh lemon golden cucumber betal leaves arecanut metal mirror yellow konna flowers and a holy text and coins in a bell metal vessel called uruli.download (3)

 

That the Indian Postal Department issued a special stamp on me in 1981

I am also referred to as    a ragvadha or disease killer and am widely used in Ayurveda.

Leave a Reply

